Go
  ArtsConnectEd

What are some ways teachers can use ArtsConnectEd with an interactive whiteboard?

Q: What are some ways teachers can use ArtsConnectEd with an interactive whiteboard?

I am an K-12 art specialist. I just got a whiteboard for my classroom and am looking for ideas on how to use ArtsConnectEd with this exciting new tool.

Anonymous, Art Educator

A: ArtsConnectEd and Interactive Whiteboard Ideas

Interactive Whiteboards and ArtsConnectEd:

  • Learn the principles and elements of art by showing a slide and having students take turns drawing principle or element on the slide.
    • Outline the negative and positive space
    • Draw the different types of lines and write what type of line it is
    • Draw a line down the middle to discover symmetry
    • Circle the emphasis/ focal point
    • Draw the pattern
    • Outline and label the shapes
    • Find an artwork with linear perspective. Draw lines to find the vanishing point.
    • In an artwork that has large blocks of color, discuss primary and secondary colors. Label the colors. Teach color mixing by coloring between two primary colors with the new secondary color marker.
    • Use the highlighter tool to change the color of an artwork. Discuss how color changes the mood.
  • Use the double slide feature to compare pieces of artwork. Have the students circle and highlight the areas that are similar and different in corresponding colors.
  • Create a set and have the students take turns rearranging the slides based on what order they think fits the theme. Explain their ordering system.
  • In the Text section, choose an article or docent manual and read it as a class. Highlight and circle important concepts, write notes on the side, and refer back to slides for images.
  • In the Text section, do an Instructional Material worksheet together as a group project. Take turns and let the students fill in their answers.
  • While looking at a set, take turns writing adjectives that describe the artwork. Discuss the reactions.
  • Learn about different art mediums by viewing slides and watching videos about the techniques. Good introductory tool when starting a new project. (“Printmaking” Collector Set is a great example)
  • Look at “A Good Read” Collector Set and answer the questions together before reading the answers. Write answers in the space next to the images.
  • Look at portraits (or “Portraits” Collector Set) and draw a background or add a speech bubble. Use the double slide feature and create a dialogue between two artworks.
Online Interactive Whiteboard Resources:

Information pages:
http://www.ettcnsc.org/Instructional_resources/other/interactive_whiteboard_links.htm
Use of Interactive Whiteboards in Art and Design: http://www.nsead.org/ict/resources/downloads/Interactive_Whiteboards.pdf
Smartboard Art Resources: http://smartboardresources.pbworks.com/Art

Drawing websites:
Art Pad: http://artpad.art.com/artpad/painter/
Sumo Paint: http://www.sumopaint.com/app/
Crickweb: http://www.crickweb.co.uk/assets/resources/flash.php?&file=websketch2
Pixlr: http://pixlr.com/editor/
One Motion: http://www.onemotion.com/flash/sketch-paint/
Crayola Digi-Color: http://www.crayola.com/coloring_application/index.cfm?referrer=/index.cfm
Bomomo: http://bomomo.com/
FlockDraw: http://flockdraw.com/
Tux Paint: http://www.tuxpaint.org/
National Gallery of Art Brushster: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/brushster.htm
National Gallery of Art Flow: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/flow.htm
National Gallery of Art Pixel Face: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/pixelface.htm\

Art activities/ lesson plans:
The Art Zone: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/zone.htm
Crickweb: http://www.crickweb.co.uk/Early-Years.html
Playing with Shadows: http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/shadowpuppets/artsedge.html
PBS Off the Map: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/offthemap/#
PBS Curious George: http://pbskids.org/curiousgeorge/games/mix_and_paint/mix_and_paint.html
Kerpoof: http://www.kerpoof.com/#
Mr. Picassohead: http://www.mrpicassohead.com/create.html
University of Chicago SmartKids: http://smartmuseum.uchicago.edu/smartkids/
Tate Schools: http://www.tate.org.uk/schoolsteachers/tatetools/modules/
I Am An Artist: http://www.iamanartist.ie/index.aspx
Starfall Art Gallery: http://www.starfall.com/n/level-b/art/load.htm?f
MoMA Destination Modern Art: http://www.moma.org/interactives/destination/
MoMA Art Safari: http://www.moma.org/interactives/artsafari/safari_menu.html
Shape Faces: http://www.topmarks.co.uk/r.aspx?sid=2068
Pointillist Painting: http://www.ngfl-cymru.org.uk/vtc/pointillist_paintings/eng/Introduction/default.htm
Learn ICT Gallery: http://www.learn-ict.org.uk/resources/gallery/index.asp
One-point perspective: http://www.olejarz.com/arted/perspective/index.html
Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery: http://www.npg.si.edu/cexh/eye/index.html
Smithsonian American Art Gallery: http://americanart.si.edu/education/insights/midnight/
Smithsonian Latino Center’s Kids Corner: http://latino.si.edu/KidsCorner/
The Poynter Institute: http://www.poynter.org/special/colorproject/colorproject/color.html
Art Games: http://www.albrightknox.org/artgames/index.htm
Invention at Play: http://www.inventionatplay.org/index.html
Learning Today (Symmetry): http://www.learningtoday.com/player/swf/Geometry_Symmetry_L3_V1_t1a.swf
Learning Today (Pattern Blocks): http://www.learningtoday.com/player/swf/Geometry_2DShapes_L1_V1_T1a_1.swf
Illuminations (Shape Sorter): http://illuminations.nctm.org/ActivityDetail.aspx?ID=34
Brain Pop: http://www.brainpop.com/artsandmusic/seeall/
Kids.gov: http://www.kids.gov/k_5/k_5_arts_art.shtml
Professor Garfield: http://www.professorgarfield.org/pgf_ArtBot.html
Virtual Museum of El Pais: http://muva.elpais.com.uy/flash/muva.htm?&lang=en
National Gallery of Art River Run: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/riverrun.htm
National Gallery of Art Swatch Box: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/swatchbox.htm
Scholastic (Jackson Pollock): http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/lessonplan.jsp?id=1192


Top
Comments
saadmashkoor  November 1, 2011

iit is a good site

kayla  November 5, 2012

hi

kayla  November 5, 2012

thanks

Franklin Stover  October 27, 2014

Greetings. In your collection, you have L 'Enchanteur pourrissant (1909), a book by Abdre Derain and Guillaume Apollinaire. I am interested in translating this book to English. Do you have any idea how I could obtain a copy of the book? There were only 100 copies of it printed in 1909, and I don't believe it was ever reprinted.

Sign in to add your comment.